FBC Logo

Fort Bend County
Office of Emergency Management


Federal disaster assistance is available to individuals in Fort Bend County. Register today to receive assistance if you suffered damages from the damaging Memorial Day storms.

NewsRSS Feed Icon, click for RSS feed of News

Showing 1 - 10 of 124 published documents:

  • News Release - Mobile Voice and Data Redundancy Units Provide Critical Capability to the County / Las unidades móviles de voz y redundancia de datos proporcionan una capacidad crítica para el Condado

  • Only One More Week to Visit the Flood Recovery Center / Sólo Una Semana Más Para Visitar el Centro de Recuperación de Inundación

  • We Want You... to Volunteer! / Te Queremos A Ti ... Para ser voluntario!
    Many Options Exist for Residents Wanting to Help the County Respond to Disaster / Muchas opciones existen para los residentes que quisieran ayudar a el condado Responder a Desastres.

  • Fort Bend County Opens Flood Recovery Center to Answer Flood Survivors' Questions / Condado de Fort Bend Abre Centro de Recuperación de inundación para contestar las preguntas de las inundaciones

  • Rain or Shine, Zombies or Terrorists, This Group of County Residents is Ready for Anything

  • Fort Bend County Severe Weather Spotter Program

  • Furniture Donation Warehouse Opens in Fort Bend County for Survivors of Brazos River Flooding / Almacén de Donaciones de Muebles Abre en el Condado de Fort Bend para los sobrevivientes de las inundaciones del Río Brazos (PDF Document (Acrobat Reader Required)> PDF Document - 403.4 KB)

  • U.S. Citizens, ‘Qualified Aliens, Non-Citizen Nationals’ Should Register With FEMA for Disaster Help (Hyperlink (external website) External Link)
    AUSTIN, Texas – Survivors of the May floods may be eligible for disaster assistance if they have a Social Security number or permanent residency card (green card) or if a minor child who lives in the household has a Social Security number. What this means: Parents or guardians of minors living in the household during the May storms are encouraged to register for assistance using the child’s Social Security number. If, however, the minor child does not have a Social Security number, a parent or guardian can obtain the number for the child and will be considered for assistance by registering with FEMA within 60 days of the disaster declaration date. To be considered for assistance, at least one person in the household must be a U.S. citizen or by legal definition a “qualified alien” or “non-citizen national” with a Social Security number. A “qualified alien” is anyone holding permanent residency, refugee or asylum status. “Non-citizen nationals” are citizens of the U.S. territories. If a parent or guardian registers with FEMA on behalf of a child living in the household, FEMA does not collect information on the immigration status of other household members. Once registered, FEMA disaster recovery specialists can supply contacts for other programs—those operated by volunteer organizations such as the American Red Cross—that may be able to help. An applicant’s information is confidential. FEMA shares that information only with the state and designated agencies that provide disaster assistance. Disaster recovery assistance is also available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. The 12 counties that sustained damage or loss from the severe storms and flooding that began May 26 are: Austin, Brazoria, Brazos, Fort Bend, Grimes, Hidalgo, Hood, Montgomery, San Jacinto, Travis, Waller and Washington. Disaster survivors may register the following ways: * online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov * phone 800-621-3362 (FEMA). Persons who are deaf, hard of hearing or have a speech disability and use a TTY may call800-462-7585. Applicants who use 711 or Video Relay Service may also call 800-621-3362. The toll-free numbers are open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., seven days a week. Multilingual operators are available. Disaster assistance may include FEMA grants to help pay for temporary housing and essential home repairs. Homeowners and renters may also be eligible for FEMA’s “Other Needs Assistance” program. “Other Needs” grants help survivors with uninsured or underinsured expenses and serious needs caused by the disaster, including: * child care * moving and storage expenses * disaster-related funeral and burial expenses * disaster-related dental and medical expenses such as canes, wheelchairs and prescriptions * repair or replacement of personal property lost or damaged in the storm, including furniture and appliances, job-related tools and equipment required by the self-employed * vehicles FEMA grants do not have to be repaid. FEMA assistance is nontaxable and will not affect eligibility for Social Security, Medicaid or other federal benefits. For households where no one is eligible for federal disaster assistance, help may be available from voluntary agencies by calling 211, a statewide information and referral service. Anyone using a relay service should call 877-541-7905. Survivors should register even if they have insurance. FEMA cannot duplicate insurance payments, but underinsured applicants may receive help after their claims been settled. For more information on the Texas recovery, visit the disaster webpage for the May storms at ; or visit the Texas Division of Emergency Management website at txdps.state.tx.us/dem .Follow us on Twitter @femaregion6 .

  • Disaster Recovery Center Opens in Fulshear for Residents of Fort Bend County / Centros de Recuperación por Desastre Abre en Fulshear para Residentes del Condado de Fort Bend

  • Federal Disaster Declaration Granted For Texas Counties (Hyperlink (external website) External Link)
    The President today granted Governor Greg Abbott's federal disaster request for Individual Assistance for all 12 counties affected by the recent flooding, including: Austin, Brazoria, Brazos, Fort Bend, Grimes, Hidalgo, Hood, Montgomery, San Jacinto, Travis, Waller, and Washington. Public Assistance Category B (Emergency Protective Measures) for local and state response costs and sheltering was also granted. Category A (Debris) remains on hold as water continues to recede, and pending additional damage assessments. "I would like to thank the President and FEMA for their quick response in granting assistance to those affected by the severe weather and flooding of the past couple weeks," said Governor Abbott. "Texans have always risen to meet the challenges they face and this time will be no different. With this latest development Texans can now begin the process of rebuilding their lives after experiencing some of the worst flooding in recent history." Additional counties may be added to the Governor’s request for assistance once they meet the threshold required by the federal government to request federal disaster aid.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 next
View Archives (127 Documents)

© 2014, Fort Bend County OEM
Powered by the PIER System